Rad Reads

Teenage girl...and assassin nun? Mortal Heart concludes a dark and thrilling trilogy


The wait is finally over—Robin LaFevers’ bestselling His Fair Assassin trilogy comes to a powerful close with the third and final book, Mortal Heart. Catch up on the first two books below…then read on for a glimpse at the gripping conclusion and exclusive bonus content on the books. 



A peek at the past…

In Grave Mercy (book 1), seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here, she learns that the god of Death has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death…and to claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others. 

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany, where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. How can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart? [CLICK HERE to get Grave Mercy]


In Dark Triumph (book 2), Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. The convent views Sybella, naturally skilled in the art of death, as one of their most dangerous weapons. 

But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for? Love and romance, history and magic, vengeance and salvation all converge in this thrilling sequel to Grave Mercy. [CLICK HERE to get Dark Triumph]


The final battle…
Mortal Heart, the third and final book, follows Annith—a girl who has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings…and patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress—to be forever sequestered inside the convent. Betrayed and angry, she decides to take action—and sets out alone to put her years of training to use. 

But across Brittany, the tides of war are drawing closer. Annith’s search for answers threatens to rip open an intricate web of lies and deceit that sit at the heart of the convent she serves. She faces the underworld, the French war—and even a forbidden romance—in her journey to find love and peace in a world of death. She’s determined to keep her sisters and convent safe…but it won’t be easy. [CLICK HERE to get Mortal Heart]

Explore the trilogy…
CLICK HERE to explore the entire world of His Fair Assassin—featuring original videos, historical notes, deleted scenes, mythology and more. 

POSTED IN , , , , ,

by Cheyenne Dermody | 2/1/2016