coverSUBSCRIBE
Close

BOOKS

Rad Reads

5 fantasy novels to read in honor of Halloween

It's hard to believe, but it's almost the end of October! Grab your pumpkins, masks and trick-or-treat bags and get ready for an amazing night filled with fun, friends and family. But, wait—want to get in the spirit *now*? Pick up one of these fantastic fantasy novels and get an early taste of the holiday's mystery and magic. 

1. Operation Tenley. Written by award-winning author, Jennifer Gooch Hummer, Operation Tenley is an amazing, action-packed fantasy book. The plot surrounds a young girl named Tenley, who has the power to control the weather. Though it sounds awesome, there's one problem: Mother Nature. Despite Tenley's abilities, Mother Nature doesn't like anyone messing with her control over the natural world. In an attempt to warn Tensley, Pennie, her protector, tells the young girl that she must give up her abilities. If Tensley refuses, she will be destroyed. Perfect for fans of Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Wizards of Waverly Place, this book is witty and fun to read.      

2. The Golden Compass. This acclaimed YA fantasy novel by Philip Pullman is fast-paced and extremely thought-provoking. The book follows the story of Lrya, a young girl living in an unfamiliar world where people's souls exist outside their bodies as daemons (animal spirits that assist and guide each human). After Lyra's friend is a kidnapped, she sets off to find him. Along the way she encounters everything from witches to kings to armoured bears. Packed with mystery, devious plots and plenty of action, this book is an absolute must-read.

3. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. At the center of this novel by Ransom Riggs is Jacob, a young boy who, after experiencing a horrendous family tragedy, ends up traveling to an abandoned island. There, he discovers a crumbling, isolated orphanage: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Jacob soon discovers that the children who live at the orphanage may be more than strange. They seem to possess powers that, if used unwisely, could be dangerous. The novel, a #1 New York Times Bestseller, has been adapted into a major motion picture from Tim Burton and is now playing in theatres.     

4. The Gender Game. Imagine a world where a river divides the genders. In Bella Forest's novel, a poisonous river separates the land into two sections: Matrus, ruled by the women, and Patrus, ruled by the men. Violet, the story's young heroine, lives in Patrus. Even though she's a girl, Violet must obey all the rules set forth by the land's male leaders. Not one to submit to other people's orders, Violet finds herself sentenced to death for her crimes. But, one decision could save her life. This intense fantasy novel is sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats.  

5. The Diviners. Attention Ghostbusters and Gatsby fans! This book is for you. Set in New York City during the 1920s, this YA novel by Libba Bray is filled with adventure, danger and, of course, spirits! The book follows Evie O'Neill, a small-town girl who finally gets a chance to move to the big city. Unfortunately, there's a catch: She has to live with her uncle who's obsessed with the paranormal. At first, Evie worries that he'll discover her own supernatural gift. But, after a serial killer appears and starts threatening the city, Evie discovers that her gift may help her put an end to the violence.       

What are your favorite fantasy novels? Let us know in the comments section below!

Photo credit: crimeofrhyme, Good Reads

POSTED IN ,

by Lauren Padilla | 10/22/2016
jump to comments
share