coverSUBSCRIBE
Close

BOOKS

Rad Reads

4 books to add to your reading list if you love The Bachelor

We cannot wait for the season premiere of The Bachelor on Jan. 23. Soon, 30 women will compete for Zach Shallcross' heart—and America will get its much-needed dose of limos, roses and ultra-glam dates. If the upcoming journey to love has you seeking your own competition romance, here are four bachelor-themed novels *perfect* for your reading list. 

The Selection by Kiera Cass


Amazon, $6

Imagine The Bachelorette meets Cinderella, and you've got The Selection. This novel focuses on a televised competition where 35 girls fight for Prince Maxon's love—and the coveted title of "princess." Being selected is a dream for the girls of Illéa, as it gives them a chance to escape the rigid caste system. But America Singer is not intrigued by the glitz and glamour. In fact, she is less than thrilled when she's forced to uproot her life and move to a palace that is regularly under attack. However, once she meets the prince, she begins to question everything. You'll immediately be drawn into America's world and want to read this six-book series. 

One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London


Amazon, $9

This book is for those who never miss Bachelor Monday and dream of one day being the leading lady. One to Watch tells the story of Bea Schumacher, a popular plus-size fashion blogger who's obsessed with the dating reality show Main Squeeze. But she hates the lack of diversity on the show, especially since none of the contestants are above a size 2. As Bea struggles with her online dating life, she receives the offer to be the star of the new season of Main Squeeze. Not expecting to fall in love, she hopes to boost her influencing career and inspire those of *all* body types—although everything changes when filming begins. This book is all about redefining beauty standards while finding love and yourself. 

American Royals by Katharine McGee


Amazon, $11

This book is much more than a Bachelor-esque subplot. American Royals takes place in a world where George Washington was the first King of America. Now, 250 years later, the Washington family remains on the throne. The plot follows Princess Beatrice and her twin siblings (party girl Samantha and level-headed Jefferson). Beatrice will soon become the first Queen of America, but her country doesn't want her to rule without a man by her side. The best part? Author Katharine McGee is currently writing book four in this series. 

Matched by Ally Condie


Amazon, $7

This classic YA novel puts a twist on the original Bachelor concept. Instead of being able to choose your partner, they are chosen for you. In this dystopian world, officials match teens with their love at age 17. The story focuses on Cassia Reyes, who is confused when she receives two matches: her best friend and the school outcast. Cassia wonders if this was just a glitch, and if not, who is her perfect match? If you loved The Giver, this book is for you! 

In need of more books to add to your TBR list? Check out these articles:
📚 5 winter reads for when you really need an escape
📚 How many of 2022's trending books have you read?
📚 Young adult mysteries to keep you on the edge of your seat

Which book deserves your final rose? Let us know on Twitter @girlslifemag!

Slider image: @bachelorabc 
All GIFS via Giphy

POSTED IN ,

by Maddy Phillips | 1/23/2023
share