coverSUBSCRIBE
Close

BOOKS

Rad Reads

6 dystopian novels to read if you loved The Hunger Games trilogy

We cannot wait for The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes to come out next year. In the meantime, why not brush up on the world of dystopians with a few novels that will get you excited for the film? Finding the perfect read for your list can be tough, but we've got you covered. Here are six dystopian novels that you will not be able to put down.

The Selection


@reading.rose.report

Looking for a book full of glitz and glamour? The Selection definitely gives off *major* Cinderella vibes and is sure to be your next fave dystopian. The plot centers around a televised competition where 35 girls get the chance of a lifetime to win the crown and become the next princess of Illéa. The story follows America Singer, a strong-willed girl who wants nothing to do with the world that she has just entered. However, she cannot go back home because there are many issues that she wants to leave behind. Make sure to put this novel on your reading list ASAP because you're going to want to find out what happens next. Goodreads rating: 4.10 stars.

Uglies


@the.book.rescuer

In Tally Youngblood's world, everyone looks forward to being 16 because it means that they will undergo surgeries to make them look like all of the other girls in New Pretty Town, a place where you can do whatever you want. For Tally, her surgery gets delayed because her best friend, Shay, decides to run away leaving Tally stuck with finding her. Full of plot twists and character development, this series is one that you *cannot* put down, so definitely give the book a try. Goodreads rating: 3.85 stars.

Legend


@_.bookmarked._

Mysteries, check. Plot twists, check. This novel is the dystopian mystery that we have *all* been waiting for. The novel starts with June Iparis being assigned a mission to track down Day, the leading suspect in the crime of her brother's death. As the shining star of the Republic, June is determined to find Day. However, as she disgues herself to find Day, June realizes that not everything that she has been told is the truth. Desperate for answers, June struggles to unveil the truth as Day tries to save his family from the Plague. Make sure to give this book a read when you're feeling in the mood for the *perfect* book. Goodreads rating: 4.16 stars.

The Maze Runner


@books.arimbi

Even if you've seen the popular movies with Dylan O'Brien, you still need to read the book series that matches the films. Not only are they full of character growth, action-packed moments and friendship, but the novels also have many details that the movies missed. If you haven't seen the films yet (make sure to add them to your to-watch list!), here's a quick rundown of the plot. Thomas is sent into a village in the middle of a maze knowing nothing but his name. Confused and lost, he soon learns that this community is surrounded by monsters called the "Grievers" who live in the maze. Every morning, two runners get set into the maze to try and find a way out. However, there doesn't seem to be an exit and time is starting to run out. Goodreads rating: 4.04 stars.

Fahrenheit 451


@my_overflowing_bookcase

As a firefighter in Farenheit 451's future society, you only have one job: burn any and all books. Guy Montag had lived his life as a firefighter without question, believing that books are as dangerous as his society tells him they are. However, his life gets turned upside down when someone asks him about his happiness. Full of mysteries and adventures, this novel will definitely make you think. This iconic dystopian needs a place on your bookshelf because it poses tough questions and makes you ask the deeper questions. Goodreads rating: 3.98 stars.

The Giver


@mikaelaandherbooks

Lois Lowry is a master at crafting novels, and this book is no exception. Set in a world free of emotion and crime, everything is chosen for members of the Community in order to create peace. Your career path is no different, as every year at the Ceremony of Twelve, young children are assigned their lifelong jobs. Jonas receives the assignment of being the next Receiver of Memory, who has to hold all the memories of what the world used to be in his head. This short read will definitely be your fave because the plot and the characters are an unbeatable combo. Goodreads rating: 4.13 stars.

Looking for more novels to add to your reading list? Check out these posts for some inspo:
📚 Here's what book to read next...based on your fave Taylor Swift album
📚 These iconic Y2K books are *definitely* worth rereading
📚 Our Bestie Book Club just found the fantasy series of the summer

Check out @glbestiebookclub on Insta to find even more suggestions for reading material!

Slider and top image: @purely_bookish
GIF via Giphy

POSTED IN , ,

by Elizabeth Gregg | 9/8/2022
share