coverSUBSCRIBE
Close

BOOKS

Rad Reads

10 Twilight read-alikes we can't put down


It’s Twilight week at GL! Yep, that’s right. The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1 hits theaters this Friday, Nov. 18.


You love Twilight. We get it; we love it, too. But here’s a list of some other titles you might’ve overlooked. All similar to Twilight, we warn you: Edward Cullen doesn’t pop up in any. Sigh.


Beautiful Creatures, Beautiful Darkness & Beautiful Chaos

By Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Set in a small South Carolina town, where it seems little has changed since the Civil War, sixteen-year-old Ethan is inexplicably drawn to Lena, a new classmate with whom he shares a psychic connection and whose family hides a dark secret to be revealed on her sixteenth birthday.

Grab the books here!


Shiver, Linger & Forever

By Maggie Stiefvater

Grace has always had an unexplainable and powerful connection to the pack of wolves roaming the woods behind her house. She’s been particularly drawn to an unusual yellow-eyed wolf who, in turn, has been watching her with increasing intensity and love. Sam reminded me a LOT of Jacob Black.

Grab the books here!


Beastly

By Alex Flinn

A modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast from the point of view of the beast, a pampered, vain Manhattan private school student. Like the beast, Kyle is turned into a monster following a cruel prank and must find true love in order to return to his human form.

Grab the book here!


Blood and Chocolate

By Annette Curtis Kaluse

Vivian falls for Aidan. No problem, right? Well Vivian is a werewolf so it’s not that simple. She must battle both her pack mates and the fear of the townspeople to decide where she belongs and with whom.

Grab the book here!


The Dark Divine & The Lost Saint

By Bree Despain

Grace Divine learns a dark secret when her childhood friend returns, upsetting her pastor-father and the rest of her family. Around the same time, strange things are happening in their small Minnesota town.

Grab the books here!


The Eternal Kiss

Holly Black & other authors

A collection of thirteen stories about vampire romance told by authors like Holly Black, and Libby Bray (of A Great and Terrible Beauty fame).

Grab the book here!


The Vampire Diaries Series

By L.J. Smith

You’ve probably seen the CW TV show (I know I have). But I urge you to check out the book series that spawned it all. It tells the addictive tale of two vampire brothers and the beautiful human girl torn between them.

Grab the books here!


Blue Blood Series

By Melissa de la Cruz

Select teenagers from some of New York City's wealthiest and most socially prominent families learn a startling secret about their bloodlines. It’s like the perfect mash up of Twilight and Gossip Girl.

Grab the books here!


City of Bones, City of Ashes & City of Glass

By Cassandra Clare

Suddenly able to see demons and the Darkhunters who are dedicated to returning them to their own dimension, 15-year-old Clary Fray is drawn into this bizarre world when her mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a monster.

Grab the books here!


Hush, Hush & Crescendo

By Becca Fitzpatrick

Nora has always been very cautious in her relationships. But when Patch, a mysterious new student with a dark side, shows up, she is drawn to him and unable to stay away despite warnings from her best friend and her own instincts.

Grab the books here!


Have you checked out any of these Twilight read-alikes? Blog about it, babes.


POSTED IN , , , ,

by Martha Mack | 2/1/2016
share